Kicking the Sky by Anthony De Sa

Publisher: Algonquin Books
Publishing Date: Mar 25 2014
Genre: New Adult
ISBN: 9781565129276
Goodreads: 3.83
Rating: ★★

I had came across this book on Netgalley and the the blurb seemed interesting enough for me to put across a request for an ARC of the same.  The fact that this book was inspired from a real life incident further seemed to work in its favor.

Alas, expectations did not meet reality and I was letdown by the book.

I had thought I would read about the impact of the brutal murder of Emanuel Jacques on a Portuguese neighborhood in Canada. And while that was evident in the actions of the parents in the neighborhood, it did not really make much contribution to the actual plot of the book as per me, nor did it vastly impact the life of its protagonist Antonio Rebelo, who also acts as the narrator of the book. If anything, it seemed to be dealing with him coming to terms with his sexuality and the happenings of a bunch of other characters, none of which I seemed to connect with.

Also, the e-galley I received was horribly, horribly formatted and it was a task in itself to read 10% of the book without straining myself or my poor eyes. I was at my wit’s end by the end of the book.

I was provided an advance readers copy for reviewing courtesy of Algonquin Books and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review of the book. This review is in no way influenced.

Leave a comment