The Redemption of Callie and Kayden (The Coincidence #2) by Jessica Sorensen

18330072

Publisher: Sphere
Publishing Date: August 2013
Genre: Romance, young adult
ASIN: B00CJFT0VO
Goodreads: 4.14
Rating: ★★★

At the end of The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden , Sorenson added a punch with a cliffhanger that was in one word – a jawdropper. I was fascinated and to an extent, confused by it. The confusion was due to the doubts that a small part of me had, given Kayden’ history as a cutter. Though to an extent, I felt it would not be so simple and I can see my hunch was right.

Not that I did not want to pick up this one sooner, but life got in the way or I found myself simply not in the mood to pick it up until this past week.

In The Redemption of Callie and Kayden, Sorenson allows her characters to grow beyond their strengths and rise above their fears, as they lean on each other and slowly start to realize, they need to get over their collective pasts and move on with their life and in the process, find they are not alone and the road to recovery though not an easy one, is the best thing they can allow to happen to themselves, if only they gather the courage to take it.

Callie & Kayden, finally open up about the traumas they faced, and in doing so, found the much needed and deserved happiness that has evaded them for the better part of their life.

As a reader, while I was glad to see them growing stronger as individuals and as a couple, the book somehow didn’t really impress me much or leave an impression on my mind.

This was definitely a slow-burn, and while I realize, it needed to be this owing to the fragile state of affairs of the recent past, it did not excite me as a reader, which is why I couldn’t rate this higher as well. The cliffhanger of this one, once again was a kicker, as it opens up a huge part of Luke’ life, which in turn made me pick up The Destiny of Violet & Luke, sooner than I had anticipated, since I could not wait any longer to know more about Luke and discover, the blink-and-you-miss-her character of Callie’ roommate Violet Hayes, from the first two books in the series.

Leave a Reply

