Arabella by Georgette Heyer

16442546

Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publishing Date:  August 2009 (first published 1949)
Genre: Historical fiction, romance
ASIN:  B00348UMYY
Goodreads: 3.99
Rating: ★★★★

If there is one thing I know its that a heyer book never fails to impress me and certainly uplifts my moods.

Arabella considered to be one of Heyer’ most romantic books and a favorite amongst her fans was my latest foray into the silly, romantic and feel good world of staple Heyer romances.

Truthfully, I may be the odd one here but I consider Sylvester to be a far better and a superior book in terms of characters, content and writing than fan-favorite Arabella.

Robert Beaumaris and Arabella Tallant are a typical Heyer pair. He is the Nonpareil and she is a country gal who through her naivety and innocence comes across to him as a breath of fresh air, being someone who doesn’t try to please him or flatter him owing to his position and social standing but rather gets him into scrapes quite out of the blue while he is left exasperated and amused all at the same time.

This common theme which I have so far encountered in almost every Heyer romance I have read from Sylvester to Frederica, did amuse me to an extent but certainly cant be labeled a favorite.

Leave a Reply

