The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

Rating – 3 stars.

One of the most popular classics, The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux had been on my TBR for a long while now and I just got a chance to read it.

The thing with classics sometimes is, they come with huge expectations. And sadly expectations aren’t always fulfilled. As it so happened in this case, I was met with disappointment at the end of it actually.

While the book is a great mix of horror, mystery and romance its a bit tepid  as per me. The phantom is a creepy guy who though gifted musically couldn’t make me sympathize with him and Christine seem to be  suffering from Stockholm Syndrome. All in all,  this book is a forgettable classic for me.

Leave a Reply

