These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) by Amie Kaufman, Meagan Spooner

18296615

Rating – 4 stars.

This book isn’t coming out for another month so I am gonna avoid the spoilers in my review here as much as I can. But since I damn loved this book so much I can’t simply not write something about it.

My first crush as a 12 year old was a guy who dies at the end of the movie, and all I could think about for the next few weeks was darn, he is such a cutie. Why? Why did the director have to kill him? Why couldn’t they have had a happy ending?

It was for the first time, that I can think of that I can remember  I was rooting for a happy ending, that I was sad about a fictional character’ death. That I couldn’t stop thinking of a smile that made my heart skip a bit.

The movie – Titanic and the guy …. Jack Dawson, played by the oh so cute Leonardo Dicaprio.

Yep, still makes me feel like a 12 year old.

TBS kinda reminded me of Jack & Rose’ love-story. Their lives couldnt have been any more different.

Lilac LaRoux, the daughter of the richest man in the universe doesn’t lack anything, but couldnt be any more lonely. Major Tarver Merendsen is a celebrated war hero at eighteen and cannot bring himself to like the ways of the rich and famous.

Together on Icarus, the most expensive luxury spaceliner their paths cross and before they know it, their life is about to change.

The Icarus is yanked out of space and Tarver and Lilac, find themselves to be the sole survivors of the catastrophe when they crash land into a strange planet.

As Tarver and Lilac, deal with the consequences of the incident and try to find a way to get help, so that they can be rescued  and in the course of trying to survive, fall in love.

And since I cannot spill the beans, I won’t say much but just this. For once, I am partial to a heroine of a YA book and am so glad that Kaufman & Spooner have wrote Lilac as someone I truly loved a lot. She wasn’t your average annoying YA heroine, but someone to reckon with.

All I can say is pick up the copy of TBS as soon as it hit shelves people, you shouldn’t miss this one.

P.S : The person who designed this gorgeous, gorgeous cover deserves a tip of the hat for the truly mesmerizing design. 

Leave a Reply

