Palimpsest by Catherynne M. Valente

3973532

Rating – 3 stars

If you have read Valente’ Fairyland series and expect Palimpsest to be on a similar ground you couldn’t be any more wrong. I begun my foray into Valente’ work when I read a lot of praise for her Fairyland series and decided to give it a shot. Though I am nowhere near completing the trilogy seeing as I have only read the prequel to it so far which really impressed me I am gonna make time and soon to catch up on it. 

Getting back on Palimpsest, the summary and the video promo of the book were so gorgeous I just had to pick it up.

Valente writes about a sexually-transmitted city in her adult novel Palimpsest. Talk about a weird idea there. Anyway, moving on in Valente’ Palimpsest – people sleep with complete strangers and end up in this highly unusual city; if the person they have slept with has a mark on them prior to the encounter – a new part of the city is added to the map that is mysteriously tattooed across your skin after your first encounter with someone marked – if the person is a novice so to speak, then a copy of your map makes its way onto your partners skin.

Valente’ four protagonists – Oleg, a New York locksmith; the beekeeper November; Ludovico, a binder of rare books; and a young Japanese woman named Sei are bonded into a quartet on first finding their way into city as is the tradition by a woman with the head of a frog.

The writing of this book is so beautiful that I found myself completely smitten by Valente’ penmanship. Unfortunately the book dragged on a bit for me and that kinda put a bummer on things.

I would write a lot more on this one if I had the time, but seeing as Diwali is round the corner I am busy with loads to do and little time on hand. Hence the short write-up and  a quick wrap-up.

Recommended to people who want to read an almost erotic fantasy without the involvement of furs and fangs. 😛

Leave a Reply

