The Waking Dark by Robin Wasserman

18401162

Rating – 2.5 stars.

Searching for some horror titles on goodreads I came across this book and read a lot of good reviews from people about it and thought I would give it a shot.

The book as is aptly described by people a perfect mix of horror and something truly psychotic. There is a mass killing in the very opening of the book, followed by a storm that nearly destroys the little town of Oleander, Kansas. 

Though the book can be traumatic to many in terms of its content I could not relate to it. To me there were too many POV characters and while that is not always a problem, with this book I sometimes found myself rereading some parts since I was confused by the change in the narrators. Quite honestly I was left with a headache after finishing off with this book and nothing else.

The book may have worked for others but it wasn’t my cup of tea. 

The writing is good and if this had been a short story collection I would have rated this higher but since this isn’t an anthology and I couldnt find myself connecting to any characters as the narration was so disjointed with so many characters all over the place I am giving this one a 2.5. 

Leave a Reply

