The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #1) by Douglas Adams

13535914

 

Rating – Did Not Finish

When I decided to read Lolita this month, I had just one more thing in mind, its follow-up. I knew I wanted to read something leaps and bounds different from it and so decided on reading the much talked about ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’. I am not much of a sci-fi fan but had heard a lot of praise for this book and had kept putting it off for as many years. Unfortunately I picked it up after I had wrapped up Lolita to give myself a break.

I had expected humor and do admit its there aplenty in this book, sadly though it isn’t for me.

I am a fan of anything that inspires a laugh or a smile, and though I did crack a smile or two I couldn’t relate to the book. I can do humor but absurdist fiction isn’t really my thing.

2 thoughts on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #1) by Douglas Adams

  1. Thanks. I believe in saying it as it is, no point in trying to blend in if you don’t belong there. Plus I guess its just me, I am one of those people who cannot like anything slapstick or absurdist.
    I can watch a andaz apna apna, jaane bhi do yaaron any number of times, or shows like sarabhai vs sarabhai in terms of indian content but cannot bring myself to watch the lame saas bahu sagas or some of the cringeworthy movies with no stories but loads of double-meaning jokes.

Leave a Reply

