Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel, Carol Christensen (Translator), Thomas Christensen (Translator)

6952

Rating – 1 star.

I can’t really review this book since I don’t wanna get a headache all over again. Why this book was adapted into a movie is beyond me really.

I had expected lots of Mexican culture and recipes in the book, I did not expect the hero Pedro dying after finally marrying Tita, the heroine, while they are consummating their marriage nor did I expect these characters to be so shallow, seriously. The whole concept of the youngest daughter to stay unmarried while her mother lives and take care of her seems asinine to me.

Also pray why couldn’t Tita and Pedro elope? How was it wise for him to marry her sister? And only for remaining close to her.

Disappointing fare.

Leave a Reply

