Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (Between #1) by April Genevieve Tucholke

16092625

Rating – 1 star

This book is such a bummer that frankly more than anything I am disappointed in myself for wanting to read it in the first place itself.

When I read the entire synopsis and had a faint warning bell ring in my head that said wait a minute the protagonists of this book are called River West & Violet White, that cannot be a good sign I ignored it. And it pains me to say this but I should have known better than to do so. Because when I was swayed by the pretty cover and that darn line You stop fearing the devil when you’re holding his hand… I honestly feel I wasn’t thinking straight.

It isn’t as if I was expecting a Hermione Granger or a Katniss Everdeen when I picked up this book, but I wasn’t even looking forward to meeting Bella’ clone either really. Cos thats what this gal is – a Bella clone – as terrible as the original really. And of course who else can it be sadly? because all unkissed 17 year old virgins have to start feeling horny and lose their marbles only and only when a hero with a crooked smile comes their way and their chastity pants start feeling a little too tight to breathe even. And they have to start wondering just then.

And if it wasn’t enough that the leads have strange names, the slutty neighbor/ fuck buddy of Violet’ twin brother Luke is called Sunshine Black. I kid you not! AND the list doesn’t end there NOPE

The other spectacularly named characters with some weird connection to colors always in their names are Blue Hoffman, Rose Redding, True White.

Not even 10 chapters into the book and River and Violet share their first kiss and this is what she has to say about that

My lips melted into my heart, which melted into my legs, which melted into the earth beneath me.

And this is how I felt

Need I say more about this book really? Because I don’t think I can. Not one. I repeat not one character in this book remotely makes any sense to me because I couldn’t get why Sunshine was so slutty, why Violet is so whiny, why River has to move around so much knowing he’ll just cause problems considering his crazy half-brother stalks him and why does Luke even need to exist in a book in which his character has no particular part to play except annoy a heroine who is too annoying on her own as it is.

All I can add in the end about how this book made me feel is 

Leave a Reply

