The Princess Bride by William Goldman

6283231

Rating – Did Not Finish

I adore reading classics and that’s precisely why I went for Goldman’ The Princess Bride, as I had heard much about it as well as its movie adaptation.

Obviously so much praise about something leads to high expectations and its the same case here. The book began with Goldman narrating how as a child, he heard a story from his father while sick which inspired his love of reading. Turned a self-confessed sports fan into someone bookish.  Goldman uses a literary device as he narrates a story penned by a fictional writer ‘S.Morgenstern’ within this book titled S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure.

We learn how Goldman later gifts a copy of the same book to his son, a boy of 10 years on his birthday and he did not like it. That hurts and baffles him so he picks up the copy to read it for himself and learns how his father never read the book in its entirety to him, rather what he heard was an abridged version where all he read was the story of Buttercup and Westley and not the political parts of it. That strikes him and spurs him into writing an abridged version of the book himself for his son and the likes of him. All the while as he grumbles about his fat son and a psychiatrist wife who gets into his head.

 So far so good.

I thought maybe this book is something I might actually like.  Turns out I had leapt before I looked.  Never ever a good thing.

When I started reading Buttercup and Westley’ tale it began alright but as it progressed I could barely keep my eyes open.  This book did not tickle my fancy.

May be if I was a 6-year-old it would have been a different thing but at this point I just couldn’t like it. The only character who in my opinion was the saving grace of this book was Inigo Montoya but even he couldn’t salvage this boor nor make me want to read anything beyond what I had read.  Nor the lure of the long list of marvelous traits such as fencing, fighting …………………..

This simply was not my cup of tea.

My preference for a likeable Buttercup is a green-eyed feisty little thing not the one I read here.

 

3 thoughts on “The Princess Bride by William Goldman

    • I couldn’t read beyond 50 pages myself before I knew it I asleep. Ah well you win some you lose some.

Leave a Reply

